Awards & Scholarships

Each year, the South Carolina Public Health Association recognizes outstanding professionals in the field of public health, including current SCPHA members and public health students.  In addition, SCPHA recognizes members of the SC General Assembly and SC's U.S. Congressional delegates who demonstrate continued dedication and advocacy to improving the lives of all South Carolinians. 
Member Awards
  • Michael D. Jarrett Outstanding Customer Service Award 
  • Ann G. Owens Management Support
  • Edd Hiott Outstanding Public Health Retiree
  • Environmentalist of the Year 
  • James Douglas Welsh 
  • James A. Hayne
  • J. Michael Suber Media Excellence 
  • Lucinda Thomas
  • Outstanding Service
  • Public Health Nursing
  • Public Health Social Work
Student Scholarships
  • Malcolm U. Dantzler 
  • Public Health 
  • Announcement Letter

Legislative Awards
  • Douglas E. Bryant Legislator of the Year 

2024 Nominations Open 

Deadline - Friday, February 16, 2024                                                                               

  2024 Awards Announcement

  2024 Awards Criteria Eligibility                                                                                                            2024 MD Jarrett Customer Service Award Criteria Eligibility                                                              2024 Awards Nomination Form

SCPHA Past Award Recipients 


Student Scholarships - 2023 Nominations                                                                          Deadline - Monday, March 6, 2023

2023 Scholarship Announcement                                                                                    2023 Public Health Scholarship Application                                                                  2023 Malcolm U. Dantzler Scholarship Application                                                      SCPHA Past Scholarship Recipients

©South Carolina Public Health Association
PO Box 11061 | Columbia, SC 29211

Phone: 803.736.9461 | Fax: 803.788.0128

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software